Release of IOS app?

Nice to be part of the beta team and was wondering if and when an IOS app will be available.

The problem with an iOS app is that they need to respect all of Apple's rules or the app will be rejected. The only alternative is for us to use the test certificate to install and run the app until it eventually gets revoked and the app unable to be opened or we need to compile and install on our own devices via a free, private dev account and xCode.

So all in all, it is very hard to say since LS would be such an unusual app when it comes to the category, features and app rules.

Apple refused to approve Onlive's app.

Only way they're likely to get it approved is to allow subscriptions through the app store so apple gets a chunk of the profit. I'm a developer and just reading through docs and such and my experience.... That's what typically happens with services like this.

Maybe they could use a third party software? Like Splashtop or something like that...

Splashtop is awful when it comes to latency though. It wouldn't work.

What about KinoConsole, Moonlight, Remotr, AirServer, etc?

None of those apps would even be able to connect to LS's servers and none of them are made to prioritise low latency.

I didn't know about that, but I used third party software like Steam In-Home Streaming and about three others since my PC couldn't handle their client. Wonder why it wouldn't work for iOS.

Many of these iOS apps require to be on the same local network which means you cannot emulate a local network like PC to skyPC and if you can connect to it, the latency is simply too high to play games. Even if you can connect to the skyPC, none of those apps support the use of controllers or mice so you're stuck with the touch screen to move the mouse.

In the end these iOS apps exist mostly for work purposes and access to local media, not gaming.

Can I connect my Xbox, PlayStation 4 or Android gamepad controller?